Guide

96156-96168 instead of psychotherapy: the medical-diagnosis test

Summary

Bill health behavior assessment and intervention codes 96156 through 96168 when the condition under treatment is a physical illness and the visit addresses the psychological or behavioral factors complicating it; bill psychotherapy when a mental disorder is itself the thing being treated. The claim carries the medical ICD-10-CM code in the primary position. CPT bars reporting the two families on the same date, so one visit means one choice.

By Gale Editorial · Updated 2026-09-01. Every figure cited to a dated source. How we write.

Which family does this visit belong to?

The primary diagnosis decides it. Health behavior assessment and intervention codes, HBAI in payer documents, belong to a visit where the patient carries a physical health diagnosis and the work addresses the behavioral factors complicating its treatment. APA Services states that the codes are not used for mental health services, and that they require a physical health ICD-10 diagnosis as the primary diagnosis rather than a DSM diagnosis code 1.

The American Medical Association's own behavioral health coding map keeps the families in separate columns, health behavior assessment and intervention at 96156 through 96171 and psychotherapy at 90832 through 90853, and describes the first as focused on factors complicating medical conditions and treatments 2. The same clinician works in both columns; what sets the column is the condition being treated.

Whether the diagnosis was reached with DSM-5-TR or with ICD-10-CM, the claim carries an ICD-10-CM code, as it does on every other behavioral health claim. What changes is which ICD-10-CM code leads. A patient whose diabetes is under treatment, and who cannot hold to the regimen, is the shape these codes were written for, with the medical code primary 1.

But the test cuts the other way just as hard. A patient whose depression or anxiety disorder is itself the thing being treated does not become a health behavior case because the session spent its time on sleep or treatment adherence.

What the codes cover, and how they are built

One assessment code and four intervention pairs. 96156 reports the health behavior assessment or re-assessment. Each intervention format then runs as a base code covering the initial 30 minutes plus an add-on for each additional 15 minutes, across individual, group, family with the patient present, and family without 3.

CodeWhat it reports
96156Health behavior assessment or re-assessment
96158 and +96159Individual intervention, initial 30 minutes, each additional 15
96164 and +96165Group intervention, initial 30 minutes, each additional 15
96167 and +96168Family intervention with the patient present, initial 30 minutes, each additional 15
96170 and +96171Family intervention without the patient present, initial 30 minutes, each additional 15

The service content the family is meant to capture is specific: adherence to medical treatment, symptom management, health-promoting behaviors, health-related risky behaviors, and adjustment to physical illness 1. Read that list against your session note before you read the descriptors.

The pair to check before it reaches your calendar is 96170 and its add-on 96171, family intervention without the patient present. The factsheet prints their descriptors and rates alongside the rest of the family 3. Nothing in the sources here settles whether a given plan covers a family session held without the patient. Check the plan's own policy, and check again when the plan year turns.

Why both cannot be reported on the same date

CPT settles this as a bar. The guideline instructs that health behavior codes are not reported in conjunction with psychiatric services, the 90785 through 90899 range, on the same date; and where a patient requires psychiatric services, adaptive behavior services and health behavior intervention, only the predominant service performed would be reported 4.

Predominant is the guideline's own word, and it moves the burden onto the note. The documentation has to make plain which service the encounter was.

The psychotherapy side runs a diagnosis screen of its own. One Medicare contractor's billing and coding article, First Coast Service Options for Jurisdiction N, attaches a list of mental disorder ICD-10-CM codes to the psychotherapy family, and the timed individual psychotherapy codes 90832, 90834, 90837 sit inside the set that list covers 5. The health behavior codes are absent from it. That article binds Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands at a revision effective January 1, 2025; pull your own contractor's article from the CMS Medicare Coverage Database.

But a same-date bar is not a same-episode bar.

A patient can carry a medical condition and a mental disorder at once, and both kinds of work can happen across a course of care. The guideline constrains what a single date of service reports 4.

How many minutes each code requires

The mid-point rule sets the floor. Do not report the 30-minute base intervention codes 96158, 96164, 96167 and 96170 for less than 16 minutes of service, and do not report the 15-minute add-ons 96159, 96165, 96168 and 96171 for less than 8 minutes 4. A brief check-in under that floor is not a billable health behavior intervention.

The unit caps come from the National Correct Coding Initiative rather than from CPT, and they carry a date. As APA reported the procedure-to-procedure and medically unlikely edits effective January 1, 2020, code 96156 is limited to one unit per episode of care, and individual intervention is capped at 90 minutes per day per patient, one unit of 96158 plus four units of 96159 4. Edits are reissued, so confirm the current ones before building a template around the cap.

Recording start and stop times rather than a rounded duration is a common convention, and it costs nothing to adopt on the first visit.

Who may report the codes, and what the claim must show

Medicare names who may bill. CMS allows clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors to bill the HBAI services described by CPT 96156, 96158, 96159, 96164, 96165, 96167 and 96168, and any successor codes 6. The March 2026 booklet's list does not name 96170 or 96171, the family pair without the patient present.

That list settles Medicare and nothing beyond it. Whether a commercial plan recognizes your license on these codes lives in that plan's provider manual and your contract, with your state's scope of practice underneath both. Check it before the first session.

The billing guide sends prescribers to a different code family: physicians, clinical nurse specialists and nurse practitioners performing health and behavior assessment or intervention are directed to report the appropriate evaluation and management or preventive medicine code instead 4. APA attributes that direction to AMA guidance from 2014, written for the predecessor 96150 through 96155 code set, so confirm it against current CPT guidance before rebuilding a fee schedule.

On the claim, the ordering is explicit: the ICD-10-CM code for the physical condition being treated goes in Box 21 A of the CMS-1500 as the primary diagnosis, and a mental health diagnosis the patient also carries is reported as a secondary condition 4. The same ordering carries onto a superbill a patient submits for out-of-network reimbursement, and a superbill without a diagnosis code leaves the plan nothing to adjudicate.

One boundary sits inside the family branch: mediating between family members, or providing family psychotherapy, would not be considered medically necessary as the primary health behavior intervention service 4.

Telehealth status and what the codes pay

The whole family stayed on the Medicare telehealth list. Codes 96156, 96158, 96159, 96164, 96165, 96167, 96168, 96170 and 96171 all appear on the CY 2026 Final List of Medicare Telehealth Services with the action Maintain 7. That list is reissued each year with the physician fee schedule final rule, so check the current year's file before committing to a remote program.

APA's 2025 factsheet prints national Medicare non-facility rates of $98.98 for 96156 and $67.93 for 96158, and states that the rate can vary slightly from state to state because of the geographic practice cost index established for every Medicare payment locality 3. Those are 2025 national figures and they change each year; the number you can plan against comes from the fee schedule lookup for your own locality.

Run the check in this order

Four questions, in order, before the code goes on the claim. What condition is being treated, and does it carry a physical health ICD-10-CM code? Do the psychological or behavioral factors in the session complicate that condition's treatment? Was any psychiatric service performed on the same date? How many minutes of intervention were delivered, timed rather than estimated?

Answer the first with a mental disorder and the visit is a psychotherapy visit, coded from that family and screened against your own contractor's medical necessity list 5. Answer it with a physical condition, and the health behavior family is open, with the medical code primary 1.

The lookups behind those answers are all free: your A/B MAC's billing and coding article for psychotherapy in the CMS Medicare Coverage Database, the current NCCI edit files for the unit caps, the current year's telehealth list for remote delivery 7, and the plan's provider manual for whether your license is recognized on these codes commercially.

A session that was psychological or neuropsychological testing belongs to neither family; test administration codes are chosen on their own rules, and a testing session does not become a health behavior assessment because the patient also carries a medical diagnosis.

Where the two families genuinely meet on one date, the guideline has already made the choice: report the predominant service, and write the note so a reviewer can see which service that was 4.

Common questions

No. The CPT guideline instructs that health behavior codes are not reported in conjunction with psychiatric services, the 90785 through 90899 range, on the same date. Where a patient needs psychiatric services, adaptive behavior services and health behavior intervention, only the predominant service performed is reported. The choice belongs to a single date of service, and the note has to show which service the encounter was.

The ICD-10-CM code for the physical condition being treated. APA Services states that use of these codes requires a physical health ICD-10 diagnosis as the primary diagnosis rather than a DSM diagnosis code, and the billing guide places that code in Box 21 A of the CMS-1500. A mental health diagnosis the patient also carries is reported as a secondary condition.

Under Medicare, yes for most of the family. CMS allows clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors to bill the services described by 96156, 96158, 96159, 96164, 96165, 96167 and 96168. That answer covers Medicare alone. A commercial plan's provider manual and your state's scope of practice decide it everywhere else.

At least 16 minutes. The mid-point rule bars reporting the 30-minute base intervention codes 96158, 96164, 96167 and 96170 for less than 16 minutes of service, and bars the 15-minute add-ons 96159, 96165, 96168 and 96171 for less than 8 minutes. Record start and stop times rather than a rounded duration, from the first visit onward.

Under Medicare, the family appears on the CY 2026 Final List of Medicare Telehealth Services with the action Maintain, covering 96156 and the eight intervention codes from 96158 through 96171. That list is reissued each year with the physician fee schedule final rule, so confirm the current year before scheduling a remote program. Commercial telehealth coverage follows the plan's own policy and your contract.

That is 96170 and its add-on 96171. Medicare's March 2026 mental health booklet does not name those two codes in its list of what clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors may bill. Commercial coverage of the pair is a plan-by-plan question, so confirm it in writing before the session is scheduled.

Run your practice on Gale

The software is free. Gale earns one flat 3.5% all-in per paid transaction — only on transactions that actually pay. No subscription, no setup fee, no network cut.

Start or manage a practice →

References

  1. 1.APA Services, Inc. (2022). Health Behavior Assessment and Intervention Services. APA Services (apaservices.org), Practice / Reimbursement / CPT and Diagnostic Codes. linkThat the health behavior codes are not used for mental health services and require a physical health ICD-10 diagnosis as the primary diagnosis rather than a DSM diagnosis code, and the service content the family captures: adherence to medical treatment, symptom management, health-promoting behaviors, health-related risky behaviors and adjustment to physical illness.
  2. 2.American Medical Association (2025). Behavioral health coding resource. American Medical Association. linkThat the AMA's behavioral health coding map places health behavior assessment and intervention (96156-96171) in a separate column from psychotherapy (90832-90853), and describes the first as focused on psychological, behavioral, emotional, cognitive and interpersonal factors complicating medical conditions and treatments.
  3. 3.APA Services, Inc. (2025). Health Behavior Assessment and Intervention CPT Codes for Psychologists. APA Services, Inc. (2025 CPT codes, descriptors, RVUs and Medicare reimbursement rates factsheet). linkThe 2025 descriptors and time structure for 96156, 96158/+96159, 96164/+96165, 96167/+96168 and 96170/+96171, and the 2025 national Medicare non-facility rates of $98.98 for 96156 and $67.93 for 96158 with the geographic practice cost index caveat.
  4. 4.APA Services, Inc. (2019). 2020 Health Behavior Assessment and Intervention Billing and Coding Guide. APA Services, Inc., Office of Health Care Finance. linkThe same-date instruction against reporting health behavior codes with psychiatric services (90785-90899), the predominant-service rule, the 16-minute and 8-minute mid-point thresholds, the NCCI unit limits effective January 1, 2020 (one unit of 96156 per episode of care; individual intervention capped at 90 minutes per day per patient), the CMS-1500 Box 21 A primary-diagnosis placement, the direction that physicians, clinical nurse specialists and nurse practitioners report E/M or preventive medicine codes instead, and the limit on family mediation or family psychotherapy as a primary health behavior intervention service.
  5. 5.First Coast Service Options, Inc. (A and B MAC, Jurisdiction N), for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (2025). Billing and Coding: Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation and Psychotherapy Services (A57520). CMS Medicare Coverage Database — Billing and Coding Article. linkThat one Medicare contractor attaches a mental-disorder ICD-10-CM medical-necessity list to the psychotherapy family, including the timed individual psychotherapy codes 90832, 90834 and 90837, and that this article binds only Florida, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands at a revision effective January 1, 2025.
  6. 6.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare Learning Network (2026). Medicare & Mental Health Coverage. CMS Medicare Learning Network booklet MLN1986542. linkThat Medicare allows clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors to bill the HBAI services described by CPT 96156, 96158, 96159, 96164, 96165, 96167 and 96168 and any successor codes, and that the March 2026 booklet's list does not name 96170 or 96171.
  7. 7.Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (2026). List of Telehealth Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). linkThat codes 96156, 96158, 96159, 96164, 96165, 96167, 96168, 96170 and 96171 appear on the CY 2026 Final List of Medicare Telehealth Services with the action Maintain, and that CMS reissues the list each year with the physician fee schedule final rule.

https://www.gale.care/for-providers/pq-health-behavior-codes-96156-96168 · 7 sources. Competitor details are cited to dated public sources and maintained as they change; figures are estimates, not commitments. Synthetic demonstration.

Findability, by specialty

How practices like yours get found in local search and AI answers — the honest playbook, per specialty.

SEO for private practices · SEO for AI search / answer engines (all verticals)