Comparison

Gale vs. Klara: A Communication Layer, or the Whole Practice OS

Summary

Klara is a patient-communication and telemedicine layer, now a ModMed product, that sits on top of a separate EHR and does not handle medical billing or insurance claims. Its vendor pricing is quote-based and undisclosed; a third-party listing shows a starting price of $12/user/month with no free trial. Gale is an all-in-one practice OS with free software: 3.5% of each card payment Gale takes, card fees included, or a flat $10 per claim when your practice collects on its own.

By Gale Editorial · Updated 2026-07-02. Every figure cited to a dated source. How we write.

Klara pricing as cited: Vendor pricing is quote-based and not publicly disclosed [4][5]; a third-party listing shows a starting price of $12/user/month with no free trial (SelectHub, accessed 2026-07-02) [1]. Klara is a patient-communication and telemedicine add-on that rides on top of a separate EHR and does not include medical billing or insurance claims [1]. ModMed product since February 8, 2022 [3].

GaleKlara
Product scopeAll-in-one practice OS: EHR, scheduling, telehealth, Jefferson AI scribe, credentialing tracking, and the billing cycle in one systemPatient-communication and telemedicine layer that sits on top of a separate EHR; not an EHR, not a billing system [1]
Medical billing / claimsRuns the claims cycle; earns a flat $10 per claim filed, or 3.5% of card payments Gale takes — $0 in a month with no claims or card paymentsNone; lacks eligibility verification and rules-based claim validation; requires a separate billing service (typically 4-10% of collections) [1][6]
Software fee$0 software; no per-user, no setup, no implementation feeQuote-based/undisclosed by vendor; third-party listing shows from $12/user/mo, no free trial [1][4]
Total stackOne system, one economic relationshipKlara per-user fee + a separate EHR subscription + a separate billing service/biller [1][6]
AI scribeJefferson scribe bundled at $0/mo; on-device option; audio deleted post-transcriptionNo AI scribe included [1]
Patient messagingPatient communication built into the OS; not a standalone messaging productPurpose-built, mature secure two-way texting, broadcast messaging, and front-desk routing [1][2]
Telehealth / videoTelehealth included in the OSTwo-way video visits with virtual waiting room [1][2]
EHR requirementGale is the EHRBring your own; integrates with ModMed, athenaOne, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, Nextech, AdvancedMD [1][2]
Best-fit segmentSolo and small-group, cash-pay-first, any-care practices wanting one systemSpecialty groups (e.g., dermatology, cardiology, OB-GYN, pediatrics); excludes psychiatry/mental-health per third-party analysis [1]
Commercial statusLive since September 2026Live production service; ModMed product since February 2022 [3]

Where Klara may be the better fit

  • —Purpose-built patient communication: Klara is a mature, highly rated secure-messaging and front-desk-automation product (broadcast messaging, routing, voicemail transcription) refined over years of production use. Gale's in-OS communication does not match that depth today [1][2].
  • —Keeping your existing EHR: because Klara layers on top, a practice happy with athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, ModMed, Nextech, or AdvancedMD can add it without switching systems. Gale is a full-OS replacement [1][2].
  • —ModMed specialty ecosystem: for dermatology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, plastics, and ENT, the ModMed + Klara stack is specialty-tuned and live today. Gale is a generalist any-care OS and is new [3].
  • —Immediate, proven availability: Klara is a live commercial product used across thousands of practices; Gale has been live only since September 2026 [3].

Klara and Gale solve different layers of the practice

The most important thing to say plainly: Klara and Gale are not the same kind of product. Klara is a patient-communication and telemedicine layer — secure two-way texting, broadcast messaging, appointment reminders, digital intake, voicemail transcription, and video visits. It rides on top of an EHR you already run and integrate; it does not replace the EHR, and it does not process insurance billing or claims 1.

A third-party product analysis is explicit that Klara "lacks billing features such as eligibility verification and rules-based claim validation" and does not serve practices centered on billing operations 1.

Gale is an all-in-one practice OS: EHR, scheduling, telehealth, the Jefferson AI scribe, credentialing tracking, and the billing cycle itself, in one system. So the honest comparison here is not a feature-for-feature billing match — it is a question of scope and total stack cost. A practice on Klara still needs a separate EHR and a separate billing service. A practice on Gale does not.

What Klara costs

Klara's own pricing is quote-based and not publicly disclosed. Capterra lists it as "Contact vendor" with no free trial 4; GetApp shows "No pricing info," last updated March 2026 2. A March 13, 2026 pricing write-up notes that buyers must request a demo, and that reviewers perceive Klara as expensive with costs that grow as usage and feature needs grow 5.

The one concrete figure available from a third-party listing is a starting price of $12 per user, per month, with no free trial (SelectHub, accessed July 2026) 1. Treat that as a floor, not a quote: Klara's own materials say cost depends on practice size, specialty, and add-ons.

Klara has been a ModMed (Modernizing Medicine) product since February 8, 2022 and is now sold as ModMed Patient Engagement 3. It integrates with ModMed as well as athenaOne, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, Nextech, and AdvancedMD 12.

Because Klara is an add-on, the real budget question is the whole stack: Klara's per-user fee, plus a separate EHR subscription, plus a separate billing service or biller. Outsourced medical billing typically runs 4–10% of collections (roughly a 5.8% average) in 2026 6. None of that billing cost lives inside Klara.

How Gale's model works instead

Gale is practice-management software, and the software itself is free — no per-user subscription, no setup fee, no implementation charge.

When Gale takes the payment by card, it keeps 3.5% of the payment, card fees included, with nothing added on top. When your practice collects on its own (a private-pay superbill, Medicare, Medicaid or commercial insurance), Gale bills a flat $10 per claim, once, when the claim is filed; a resubmitted or appealed claim is not charged again. A month with no card payments and no claims filed costs $0. The $10 does not change with the charge or the outcome: a denied claim costs the same $10 as a paid one.

A few consequences worth stating flatly:

  • No per-seat bill. Klara's $12/user/month scales with headcount whether or not a given month collects anything 1. Gale's software cost does not scale with seats at all.
  • One stack, one bill. The EHR, scheduling, telehealth, the Jefferson AI scribe, and the billing cycle are one system. There is no separate EHR fee and no separate billing service on top.
  • Provider-direct settlement. Funds settle direct to the provider via Stripe Connect; Gale does not hold or advance float.
  • You hold your own contracts. Providers bill under their own NPI and keep their own payer contracts.

The Jefferson AI scribe is bundled at $0/month; Klara does not include an AI scribe 1. An on-device option processes audio locally and deletes it after transcription, and Gale never auto-attests credentials — every attestation is signed by the provider.

Illustrative scenario, not a quote: a solo cash-pay-first practice taking 60 card payments through Gale in a month would owe 3.5% of each payment, card fees included; the same 60 visits filed as claims the practice collects on its own would cost 60 × $10 = $600. The exact figure moves with visit prices and with how many visits run by card, and is $0 in a month with no card payments and no claims filed.

What Klara does better

This is a fair comparison, and Klara has real strengths Gale does not match today:

  • Purpose-built patient communication. Klara is a mature, highly rated messaging product — secure two-way texting, broadcast messaging, front-desk routing, and voicemail transcription refined over years of production use 12. Gale includes patient communication inside the OS, but it is not a dedicated, best-in-class messaging product of that depth.
  • Keep the EHR you already love. Because Klara layers on top, a practice happy with athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, ModMed, Nextech, or AdvancedMD can add Klara without replacing its system 12. Gale is a full-OS switch.
  • The ModMed specialty ecosystem. For dermatology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, plastics, and ENT, the ModMed + Klara stack is specialty-tuned and live today 3. Gale is a generalist any-care OS and is new.
  • Live and proven. Klara is a production product used across thousands of practices. Gale went live with real patients in September 2026.

For a specialty group that already has an EHR and a billing operation it trusts and simply wants superior patient messaging and telemedicine bolted on, Klara is very likely the better fit.

Honest downside of Gale today

Gale is new. It went live with real patients in September 2026. It has a short production track record. Klara is a live, ModMed-owned commercial service 3.

A clinician who needs a long production track record for messaging and telemedicine should weigh that. Gale is appropriate for a provider evaluating the model and architecture ahead of production availability. Gale is software and an MSO — it is not a medical practice and does not employ clinicians.

Common questions

No. Klara is a patient-communication and telemedicine layer. A third-party product analysis states it lacks billing features such as eligibility verification and rules-based claim validation, and does not serve billing-centered practices 1. A practice on Klara runs claims through a separate EHR and a separate billing service or biller, which typically costs 4–10% of collections in 2026 6. Gale runs the billing cycle itself and charges 3.5% of each card payment Gale takes, card fees included, or a flat $10 per claim when your practice collects on its own.

Klara's own pricing is quote-based and not publicly disclosed; Capterra lists it as 'Contact vendor' and GetApp shows no pricing 24. A third-party listing shows a starting price of $12 per user per month with no free trial (SelectHub, accessed July 2026) 1. Actual cost depends on practice size, specialty, and add-ons, and reviewers describe costs that grow with usage 5.

Yes. Modernizing Medicine (ModMed) acquired Klara on February 8, 2022, and now sells it as ModMed Patient Engagement 3. Klara continues to integrate with third-party EHRs including athenaOne, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, Nextech, and AdvancedMD in addition to ModMed 12.

Gale's software is free; it earns 3.5% of each card payment Gale takes, card fees included, or a flat $10 per claim when your practice collects on its own, and $0 in a month with no card payments and no claims filed. Gale and Klara are not direct substitutes: Gale is an all-in-one practice OS (EHR, scheduling, telehealth, Jefferson AI scribe, and billing), while Klara is a communication add-on on top of a separate EHR. Gale is also new — live only since September 2026 — whereas Klara is long established.

Keep reading

Telehealth Built Into the Chart · EHR for Independent Practices: Charting That Stays Out of the Way · Free EHR: What "Free" Really Means (and the Catch to Watch For) · AI Medical Scribe, Included — No Monthly Fee · How Practice Software Charges: Flat Fee vs. Percentage of Collections vs. Network Rake · Medical Billing & Claims: Pay Only When You Get Paid · Revenue Cycle Management for Solo and Small Practices · How to Start a Private Practice: The 2026 Checklist · EHR for Primary Care and Family Medicine · Gale vs SimplePractice: An Honest Comparison · Gale vs athenahealth: An Honest Comparison · Gale vs. Alma: The Real Cost of Membership and the Insurance Spread · Gale vs Headway: Keep Your Rate, Keep Your Contracts · Gale vs Freed: Bundled Scribe vs Scribe-Only

Run your practice on Gale

The software is free. Gale keeps 3.5% of a card payment it takes, or bills a flat $10 per claim your practice collects on its own. No subscription, no setup fee, no network cut.

Start or manage a practice →

References

  1. 1.SelectHub Editorial (2026). Klara Reviews 2026: Pricing, Features & More. SelectHub. link ✓Klara starting price $12 per user per month, no free trial; patient-communication/engagement only; lacks billing features such as eligibility verification and rules-based claim validation; target specialties (cardiology, dermatology, OB-GYN, pediatrics) and excludes psychiatry/mental health and billing-centered practices; integrations with ModMed, athenaOne, eClinicalWorks, Greenway, Nextech, AdvancedMD
  2. 2.GetApp Editorial (2026). Klara 2026 Pricing, Features, Reviews & Alternatives. GetApp. link ✓No public pricing listed; free trial listed; last updated March 2026; integrations include ModMed, Nextech, athenaOne, MedEvolve, AdvancedMD; HIPAA-compliant, mobile access, confirmations/reminders, appointment scheduling, secure messaging, virtual waiting room
  3. 3.ModMed (Modernizing Medicine) (2022). ModMed Acquires Maker of the Klara Practice & Patient Collaboration Platform. modmed.com press release. link ✓ModMed acquired Klara on February 8, 2022; Klara is a patient communication and collaboration platform now offered as ModMed Patient Engagement (klara.com redirects to modmed.com/what-we-do/patient-engagement)
  4. 4.Capterra Editorial (2026). Klara Software Pricing, Alternatives & More 2026. Capterra. link ✓Klara pricing shown as 'Contact vendor'; no free trial; web-based plus iOS/Android apps; customers must contact Klara directly for customized pricing
  5. 5.Emitrr Editorial (2026). Klara Pricing In 2026: Features, Best Alternative & More. emitrr.com. link ✓Klara pricing plans not publicly disclosed; buyers must request a demo; reviewers perceive Klara as expensive with costs that increase as usage and feature needs grow; article last updated March 13, 2026
  6. 6.Dr. Billing Service editorial / PriceItHere editorial (2026). Medical Billing Percentage / Medical Billing Service Cost: What Practices Pay in 2026. drbillingservice.com / priceithere.com. link ✓Outsourced medical billing services typically charge 4-10% of monthly collections in 2026, with an industry average near 5.8%; rates vary by specialty, volume, and complexity

https://www.gale.care/for-providers/compare/klara · 6 sources. Competitor details are cited to dated public sources and maintained as they change; figures are estimates, not commitments.